Patrick Laverdant crosses his native island with the camera slung over his shoulder. This self-taught Mauritian photographer takes a tender and human look at the lives of Mauritians, especially those of the most humble. His artistic clichés give us to see an island Mauritius full of colors, authentic and alive. His work is exclusively based on spontaneous photography, immerging himself into local life to get as close as possible to the people. Perfectionism illuminating his work, rocks the sensitivity that punctuates his life. He offer us his unpretentious love of the image.

Patrick is very passionate about photography, surfing and the sea. At the age of 23, he starts his own surfwear company in Tamarin, which over the years has been a huge success across the island but separated in 2007, tired of the routine. He then equips himself with a camera and reconnects with this old passion. Technology has evolved but adaptation to digital is fast. In 2008, he leaves Mauritius for Switzerland where he will remain 5 years and returns regularly to fill up the images that feed his website.

His artistic approach through his photos of saltpans, small shops, fishermen, among others, is also a testimony to the traditions of Mauritius and Rodrigues. Its beautiful Blacks and Whites are very much appreciated and exhibited in the most beautiful hotels on the island as well as in international magazines.

A propos

image.jpg

Patrick Laverdant sillonne son île natale l’appareil photo en bandoulière. Ce photographe mauricien autodidacte pose un regard tendre et humain sur la vie des Mauriciens, notamment sur celle des plus humbles. Ses clichés artistiques nous donnent à voir une île Maurice haute en couleurs, authentique et vivante. Son travail est exclusivement basé sur un mode de photographie spontanée, en s'immergeant dans la vie locale afin d'être au plus prés des gens. Le perfectionnisme illuminant son travail, berce la sensibilité qui rythme sa vie. Il nous livre sans prétention son amour de l’image.

Patrick se passionne très tôt pour la photo, le surf et la mer. Il monte à 23 ans sa propre entreprise de surfwear à Tamarin qui remporte au fil des années un franc succès à travers toute l’île mais s’en sépare en 2007, las de la routine. Il ressort alors l’appareil photo du placard, mis de côté par manque de temps et se reconnecte à cette ancienne passion. La technologie ayant évolué, l’adaptation au digital se fait rapidement. En 2008, il quitte Maurice pour la Suisse où il restera 5 ans et revient régulièrement pour faire le plein d’images qui alimentent son site internet.

Sa démarche artistique à travers ses photos des salines, des petites boutiques, des pêcheurs, entre autres, s’inscrit aussi comme un témoignage des traditions de l’île Maurice et de Rodrigues. Ses Noir et Blancs très appréciés, sont entre autres exposés dans les plus beaux hôtels de l’île ainsi que dans des magazines internationaux. 

Bonne découverte!